Tip of the Week June 10, 2013

Each Volgistics account includes a non-archived and an archived section. Your account’s service level determines how many records can be kept in each section.

The non-archived section of your database is designed to be used for the records of active volunteers. Records in this section have full functionality– they can have service recorded, be placed on the schedule, receive email communication, be included in all reports, etc.

The archived section of your database is designed to be used when you want to keep service (or other) information for a volunteer, but the volunteer will no longer be active in your organization. Because archived records have limited functionality, they cost much less on a record-by-record basis than non-archived records.

There is not a set rule for when a volunteer record should be archived, but some uses are to archive records where the person is no longer volunteering but you want to keep service information, or where you have seasonal volunteers and you want to be able to restore the volunteer’s information when they return.

You can find out more about how the archive feature works in Help topics 1999 and 2000.

This entry was posted in Tip of the Week, Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply